My Tropical Garden-2014

Growing Tropical Plants- 2014

I’ve been so interested in growing tropical flowers in Zone 7 that I’ve learned a thing or two about a thing or two!

After a lot of research, I’ve discovered that it is possible to grow these wonderful and beautiful plants, like Bananas, Canna, Elephant Ears, and other tropicals in my zone. I knew it would be hard work but I’m learning more and more as I went.

Last year was the first year I planted these exotics and I did it! My yard looked like it was a product of Key West. My Banana Plant grew to 12′ and the leaves on the Elephant Ears were just unbelievably huge! The Cannas were so colorful and about 4″ tall…gorgeous. I actually saved the seeds from these and started them for this seasons garden. See the progress here.

I was so sad to see the season come to an end. It was heart breaking…. but I discovered how to store my tropical, Overwintering is its official name, and plant again the next year. Well… I have everything stored in my garage wrapped in burlap. Of course, this past winter was the worst in like 20 years so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that my bulbs and tubers made it.  If not, well I’ve learned a hard lesson. STORE IN A WARMER PLACE! I will not be discouraged though. Live and Learn, right?

Here are some pictures of my yard, before and after. There is more that I do not have pictures of. Once everything started to grow, I just sat back in awe and relaxed like I was, well, on a tropical island somewhere. It was awesome!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment